Sunday, December 13, 2009

Gibraltar wins Miss World 2009

Gibraltar's Kaiane Aldorino claimed the title of Miss World 2009 on Saturday, defeating 111 other hopefuls at a glittering ceremony in South Africa.

"Thank you South Africa, this is the most wonderful moment of my life," said a tearful Aldorino, whose website describes her as a 22-year-old human resources clerk who loves dancing and spending time with loved ones.

Confetti rained down the stage as Aldorino, representing a British territory at the western end of the Mediterranean Sea with a population of less than 30,000, accepted the crown.

Mexico's Perla Beltran came second, with South African entry Tatum Keshwar taking third place.

The African-themed gala event at a Johannesburg convention centre attracted a multi-national crowd, waving country flags and cheering wildly for their favourite contestants.

Miss India, Pooja Chopra, a hot favourite with the crowd, got eliminated in the top 16, after winning the "beauty with a purpose" title for her charity work.

"The build up to this event has been phenomenal, the girls have had a time of their lives in South Africa," said Chinese television presenter Angela Chow, who hosted the show.

Here is the outcome of Miss World 2009:

Miss World 2009:
GIBRALTAR, Kaiane Aldorino

1st Runner Up:
MEXICO, Perla Beltrán

2nd Runner Up:
SOUTH AFRICA, Tatum Keshwar


, Daniela Ramos
PANAMA, Nadege Herrera
FRANCE, Chloé Mortaud


JAPAN, Eruza Sasaki
SIERRA LEONE, Mariatu Kargbo
INDIA, Pooja Chopra
KOREA, Kim Joo-ri
MARTINIQUE, Ingrid Littré
POLAND, Anna Jamróz
BRAZIL, Luciana Bertolini
VIETNAM, Trần Thị Hương Giang
KAZAKHSTAN, Dina Nuraliyeva


-Japan (Sports Winner)
-Canada (Talent Winner)
-Sierra Leone (Talent Winner)
-Mexico (Top Model Winner)
-Gibraltar (Beach Beauty Winner)
-India (Beauty with a Purpose Winner)


Beauty Queen of Africa: Tatum Keshwar (South Africa)
Beauty Queen of Americas: Perla Beltrán (Mexico)
Beauty Queen of Asia & Oceania: Trần Thị Hương Giang (Vietnam)
Beauty Queen of Caribbean: Ingrid Littré (Martinique)
Beauty Queen of Europe: Kaiane Aldorino (Gibraltar)

This year’s board of judges are:

Julia Morley (Miss World Limited Chairman and Chairman of the Judges)
Priyanka Chopra (Miss World 2000 from India)
Zhang Zi Lin (Miss World 2006 from China)
Mike Dixon (Musical Director)
JJ Schoeman (Designer)
Lindiwe Mahlangu-Kwele (CEO Johannesburg Tourism Company)
Graham Cooke (MD World Travel Group)
Warren Batchelor (Executive Producer, Miss World 2009)

No comments: